

High-level Advisory Group

Alar Streimann: Alar Streimann has served as Estonia's Ambassador to France, Germany and Sweden, and as Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe and the OECD. He was Secretary General of the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 2011–2015. Mr Streimann was also the Chief Negotiator during Estonia's accession negotiations with the European Union.
Algirdas Šemeta: Algirdas Šemeta's career includes notable roles such as serving as the European Commissioner for Budget in 2009–2010 and for Taxation, Customs, Anti-Fraud and Statistics (from 2011) and Audit in 2010–2014. Before becoming Commissioner, Mr Šemeta held high-level positions in the Lithuanian Government, including Minister of Finance in 1997–1999 and 2008–2009. In 2014–2019, he served as the first Business Ombudsman of Ukraine.
Andris Piebalgs : Andris Piebalgs is a highly experienced international politician, educator and researcher with over 35 years of management experience and 20 years in global energy affairs. He was European Commissioner for Energy in 2004–2009 and for Development in 2010–2014. As Ambassador to the EU, he played a central role in Latvia's accession process in 1998–2003 and as Deputy State Secretary for EU Affairs in 2003–2004.
Cecilia Malmström: Cecila Malmström served as European Commissioner for Trade in 2014–2019, where she played a key role in shaping the European Union's trade policies and negotiations. In 2010– 2014, she served as European Home Affairs Commissioner. Prior to her role as Commissioner, Ms Malmström was Minister for European Affairs in 2006–2010 and a Member of the European Parliament in 1999–2006.



High-level Advisory Group

Högni S. Kristjánsson: Högni S. Kristjánsson is an experienced diplomat who served as acting Deputy Head of the Icelandic EU Mission in Brussels in 2002 and a College Member of the EFTA Surveillance Authority in 2018–2021. In 2008–2013, he was Director for European Affairs and heavily involved in the accession negotiations.
Katarina Areskoug: Katarina Areskoug acquired extensive experience in EU affairs as Head of the European Commission in Sweden in 2015– 2020. She also served as State Secretary for EU and International Affairs to the Swedish Prime Minister in 2010–2014. Prior to that, she was posted to Brussels for 10 years as a diplomat at the Permanent Representation of Sweden to the EU in Brussels, and a civil servant at the European Commission. Her roles at the European Commission, included Desk Officer for Latvia during the country's EU membership negotiations.
Laimonas Čiakas: Laimonas Čiakas is the former Director General of the National Land Service of Lithuania (2017–2021). In 1998–2010, he was Deputy Director and then Director of the Department for Agriculture. There, he was instrumental in implementing agricultural policy and reforms as well as leading European integration at the Ministry of Agriculture. He was also a Director at the National Audit Office in 2011–2017.
Marja Rislakki : Marja Rislakki was a career diplomat with special expertise in EU affairs. She served as the Finnish Permanent Representative to the EU in 2017–2021, chairing Coreper during Finland's Presidency of the Council of the European Union in 2019. She was the Finnish Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU in 2008–2013 and the Finnish Representative in the Council Enlargement Working Group in 2000–2003. During the Finnish accession negotiations, she acted as diplomatic advisor to the Finnish chief negotiator in 1993–1995. She also served as State Secretary for the Finnish Minister of Economy in 2013–2015.



High-level Advisory Group



Stefán Haukur Jóhannesson: Stefán Haukur Jóhannesson was the Chief Negotiator for Iceland's EU accession process in 2009–2013. In this capacity, he led Iceland's negotiations with the EU. He was also Iceland's Ambassador to the EU (and non-resident Ambassador to other countries) in 2005–2011. He also worked in Ukraine as Team Leader of the Special Monitoring Mission in 2014.