Sanctions against the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Description of the sanctions

1. Arms embargo, etc.

It is prohibited to directly or indirectly provide, sell or transfer arms and related materiel, including ammunition, military vehicles and equipment, paramilitary equipment or related spare parts to all non-state entities and individuals in the territory of the DRC. It is also prohibited to offer technical and financial assistance in connection with the arms embargo. These sanctions do not apply to materiel intended solely for support to the UN stabilisation mission in the DRC (MONUSCO). Also, non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use is allowed to be provided. The UN Security Council has established a Sanctions Committee for the DRC to handle issues related to exemptions from the arms embargo. Exemptions must be reported to and approved by this Committee in order to be approved by the competent national authority.

2. Travel restrictions

The persons listed are prohibited from entry into, or transit through, the EU. Persons who may be subject to listing include those who violate the arms embargo, political and military leaders of both Congolese and foreign armed groups who impede disarmament, demobilisation and reintegration, or those who recruit or use children in armed conflict as well as persons who commit serious crimes against children or women in situations of armed conflict, prevent humanitarian access, illegally support armed groups in eastern DRC through the illicit trade of natural resources, act for or on behalf of a listed person or participate in attacks on MONUSCO. The list of the persons concerned is drawn up and amended by the UN Security Council Sanctions Committee for the DRC, which can also grant exemptions in some cases. The EU implements the decisions of the Sanctions Committee on an ongoing basis.

3. Freezing of assets

All assets and economic resources belonging to listed persons or entities are to be frozen. It is also prohibited to place assets or economic resources at their disposal. The criteria for the listing of persons and, where appropriate, entities are the same as for travel restrictions. As mentioned with regard to travel restrictions, the list is drawn up and amended by the Sanctions Committee. The EU implements the decisions of the Sanctions Committee on an ongoing basis. Certain exemptions from the freezing of assets may be permitted for humanitarian purposes, etc.

Competent Swedish authorities

The Swedish Migration Agency and Sweden's missions abroad are responsible for applying the travel restrictions.

The Inspectorate of Strategic Products has primary responsibility for issues concerning the arms embargo.

Exemptions from the freezing of assets may be granted by Försäkringskassan (the Swedish Social Insurance Agency).

Information on frozen accounts is to be submitted to Finansinspektionen (the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority).

Links to the competent authorities are available below.


Josefin Simonsson Brodén
Sanctions Coordinator
Phone (switchboard) +46 8 405 10 00
email to Josefin Simonsson Brodén