Music Export Prize

Svensk version

Avicii wins 2013 Music Export Prize

Tim "Avicii" Bergling wins the Government's 2013 Music Export Prize. This year's Special Prize for long-standing contributions to Swedish music went to the group ABBA. A new prize this year was the Commendation, which went to TEN Music Group.

About the Music Export Prize

Since 1997, the Government has recognised achievements in the music industry that have put Sweden in the international spotlight during the preceding year, and thus contributed to Swedish exports.

The prizewinner is chosen by a jury that each year selects someone in the music industry who has distinguished themselves through their contribution to Swedish export success and helped put Sweden on the map. The jury chooses a winner who is seen as a good representative of Sweden. Success in several large foreign markets carries extra weight, as does proven creative entrepreneurship that has benefited both Swedish music exports and the image of Sweden. The prize may be awarded to a group.

Since 2006, the jury has also chosen a Special Prize winner on the basis, not least, of having made a long - standing contribution to Swedish music exports or having spread Swedish music abroad, thus promoting a positive image of Sweden.

Members of the 2013 jury

Annika Rembe, Chair
Anna-Karin Larsson, head of the music department at Sveriges Radio
Christer Modig, CEO MTG Radio
Claes Olson, editor, Musikindustrin
Elisabet Widlund, CEO Musiksverige
Håkan Hjort, Deputy Director, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Jesper Thorsson, CEO Export Music Sweden
Jonas Burman, head of Musikplattformen at Statens musikverk (Music Development and Heritage Sweden)
Ludvig Werner, CEO IFPI Sverige
Nutta Hultman, Secretary General, Swedish Music Publishers Association
Per Sinding-Larsen, music journalist, Sveriges Television