This content was published in the period between


Fifth summit of the Eastern Partnership


When Prime Minister Stefan Löfven and other EU heads of state and government meet their counterparts in the Eastern Partnership countries, the agenda will include reforms and deepened cooperation. The Government will particularly highlight the importance of democracy and a strong civil society.

Stefan Löfven and Petro Poroshenko
- The Eastern Partnership is an important framework for development and stability in our region. Our goal is to build resilient societies in the six partnershipcountries, with responsible institutions that enjoy citizens’ trust, says Prime Minister Stefan Löfven. Prior to the start of the Eastern Partnership Summit, Stefal Löfven spoke with Petro Poroshenko, the President of Ukraine and his adviser Konstatin Eliseev. Photo: The Representation of Sweden to the EU

A strong civil society and democracy are important for Sweden

The Government is strongly committed to the Eastern Partnership. The aim is to ensure resilient, prosperous, peaceful and democratic societies with responsible institutions that have the confidence of citizens. The key to this is a strong civil society.

Developing closer ties with the EU requires engagement and hard work and for the Government, the priority is for countries that implement reforms to be offered more cooperation.

The Eastern Partnership involves strengthening the respect for human rights, promoting democratic development, increasing gender equality and promoting a strong civil society and independent media.

Citizens' trust and popular support are essential for the success of the comprehensive reforms and to achieve long-term sustainable development in the partnership countries. These reforms must yield tangible results for the population and it is particularly important to reach the young generation.

Deeper and more focused relations within the Eastern Partnership

At the summit, heads of state and government are discussing the latest developments, and how to increase the momentum of reform and strengthen cooperation.

The objective is to agree on 20 deliverables by 2020 in a number of areas: public administration, trade and economic development, gender equality, energy issues, environment and climate change. Civil society also needs to be stronger.

The three association and free trade agreements with Moldova, Georgia and Ukraine mean that partnership countries will gain access to the EU's single market. Since early 2017, citizens from Georgia and Ukraine can travel to the Schengen area without a visa. Moldova was granted visa-free travel in 2014.

In addition to these three countries, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Belarus are also involved in the EU's Eastern Partnership.

The summit takes place on 24 November in Brussels.