This content was published in the period between 21 January 2019 and 8 July 2021

Joint Statement – Rule of Law in the context of the Covid-19 crisis

Published Updated

Joint Statement by Sweden, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.

In this unprecedented situation, it is legitimate that Member States adopt extraordinary measures to protect their citizens and overcome the crisis. We are however deeply concerned about the risk of violations of the principles of rule of law, democracy and fundamental rights arising from the adoption of certain emergency measures. Emergency measures should be limited to what is strictly necessary, should be proportionate and temporary in nature, subject to regular scrutiny, and respect the aforementioned principles and international law obligations.

They should not restrict the freedom of expression or the freedom of the press. We need to jointly overcome this crisis and to jointly uphold our European principles and values on this path. We therefore support the European Commission initiative to monitor the emergency measures and their application to ensure the fundamental values of the Union are upheld, and invite the General Affairs Council to take up the matter when appropriate.

After the publication of the joint Statement, Bulgaria, Romania and Hungary announced that they have joined the Statement.


Andreas Enbuske
Press Secretary to the Minister for EU Affairs Hans Dahlgren
Phone (switchboard) +46 8 405 10 00