The Government of Sweden

The Government governs Sweden and is the driving force in the process of legislative change, thereby influencing the development of our society. The Government consists of a prime minister and 21 ministers.

Swedens government 18 October 2022 group picture
Swedens government 18 October 2022 Photo: Johannes Frandsen/Government offices

Ministries and ministers

Prime Minister's Office

The Prime Minister’s Office is responsible for leading and coordinating the work of the Government Offices.

Ulf Kristersson
Ulf Kristersson Prime Minister
Jessika Roswall
Jessika Roswall Minister for EU Affairs

Ministry of Culture

The ministry is responsible for issues concerning culture, democracy, media, the national minorities, and the language and culture of the Sami people. The Ministry is also responsible for youth policy and issues concerning civil society, faith communities, and burial and cremation services.

Parisa Liljestrand
Parisa Liljestrand Minister for Culture

Ministry of Defence

The ministry is responsible for the Government’s defence policy.

Pål Jonsson
Pål Jonson Minister for Defence
Carl-Oskar Bohlin
Carl-Oskar Bohlin Minister for Civil Defence

Ministry of Education and Research

The ministry is responsible for the Government’s education and research.

Mats Persson
Mats Persson Minister for Education
Lotta Edholm
Lotta Edholm Minister for Schools

Ministry of Employment

The Ministry is responsible for the labour market, labour law, the work environment, gender equality and human rights at national level and efforts to combat racism and discrimination and strengthen the rights of LGBTI people.

Johan Pehrson
Johan Pehrson Minister for Employment and Integration
Paulina Brandberg
Paulina Brandberg Minister for Gender Equality and Deputy Minister for Employment

Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation

The ministry is responsible for matters relating to state-owned enterprises, enterprise and industrial policy, rural affairs and regional growth.

Ebba Busch
Ebba Busch Minister for Energy, Business and Industry

Ministry of the Environment

The ministry is responsible for the Government’s environmental and climate policy.

Romina Pourmokhtari
Romina Pourmokhtari Minister for Climate and the Environment

Ministry of Finance

The Ministry of Finance works with issues concerning economic policies, taxes, central government administration, financial markets and consumer policy.

Elisabeth Svantesson
Elisabeth Svantesson Minister for Finance
Erik Slottner
Erik Slottner Minister for Public Administration
Niklas Wykman
Niklas Wykman Minister for Financial Markets

Ministry for Foreign Affairs

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Sweden's missions abroad are responsible for Sweden’s foreign, development assistance and trade policy.

Tobias Billström
Tobias Billström Minister for Foreign Affairs
Johan Forssell
Johan Forssell Minister for International Development Cooperation and Foreign Trade

Ministry of Health and Social Affairs

The ministry is responsible for social welfare, including health promotion and health care for the sick.

Jakob Forssmed
Jakob Forssmed Minister for Social Affairs and Public Health
Acko Ankarberg
Acko Ankarberg Johansson Minister for Health Care
Anna Tenje
Anna Tenje Minister for the Elderly and Social Security
Camilla Waltersson Grönvall
Camilla Waltersson Grönvall Minister for Social Services

Ministry of Infrastructure

The Ministry of Infrastructure is responsible for matters relating to infrastructure, digital policy, post issues and energy.

Peter Kullgren
Peter Kullgren Minister for Rural Affairs
Andreas Carlson
Andreas Carlson Minister for Infrastructure and Housing

Ministry of Justice

The ministry is responsible for the judicial system, migration and integration issues, society’s crisis preparedness, fundamental laws, civil law, etc.

Gunnar Strömmer
Gunnar Strömmer Minister for Justice
Maria Malmer Stenergard
Maria Malmer Stenergard Minister for Migration