Civil society in the central government budget

Civil society and religious communities are covered by appropriations that are part of expenditure area 17 – Culture, the media, religious communities and leisure activities – of the central government budget.

This area includes the following appropriations:

9:1 Swedish Commission for Government Support to Faith Communities
9:2 Support to religious communities
13:2 Grants to public meeting places
13:4 Support to Riksdag parties’ women’s organisations
13:5 Contributions to the non-profit sector


The central government budget comprises some one hundred ‘appropriations’ that describe how much money can be used for a certain activity. The appropriations are divided into 27 expenditure areas.


On 18 April the Government presented its 2017 Spring Fiscal Policy Bill to the Riksdag, together with an amending budget for 2017.