Culture in the central government budget

Culture is covered by appropriations that are part of expenditure area 17 – Culture, the media, religious communities and leisure activities – of the central government budget.

This area includes the following appropriations:

1:1 The Swedish Arts Council
1:2 Grants to general cultural activities, development, international cultural exchange and cooperation
1:3 Creative Schools
1:4 Research and development measures in the area of culture
1:5 Support to non-government cultural buildings
1:6 Grants for regional culture activities
1:7 The Swedish Agency for Cultural Policy Analysis
2:1 Grants to the Royal Opera, the Royal Dramatic Theatre, the Swedish National Touring Theatre, the House of Dance Foundation, Drottningholms Slottsteater Foundation and Voksenåsen
2:2 Grants for certain theatre, dance and music purposes
2:3 The Swedish Performing Arts Agency
3:1 Grants to literature and cultural publications
3:2 Grants to literature and cultural publications
3:3 The Institute for Language and Folklore
4:1 The Public Art Agency Sweden
4:2 Artistic design of the shared environment
4:3 The National Swedish Handicraft Council
4:4 Grants to the area of visual art and design
5:1 The Swedish Arts Grants Committee
5:2 Remuneration and grants to artists
6:1 The National Archives
7:1 The Swedish National Heritage Board
7:2 Grants for the conservation of cultural heritage
7:3 Ecclesiastical heritage grant
7:4 Grants to museums of working life
8:1 Central museums: Government agencies
8:2 Central museums: Foundations
8:3 Grants to certain museums
8:4 Living History Forum
8:5 State exhibition guarantees and purchases of certain objects of cultural interest
10:1 Film support


The central government budget comprises some one hundred ‘appropriations’ that describe how much money can be used for a certain activity. The appropriations are divided into 27 expenditure areas.


On 18 April the Government presented its 2017 Spring Fiscal Policy Bill to the Riksdag, together with an amending budget for 2017.