Sanctions against Burundi

Description of the sanctions

Travel restrictions

The travel restrictions involve a prohibition on entry into and transit through EU Member States for individuals involved in activities that seriously undermine democracy or obstruct the search for a political solution in Burundi, e.g. by acts of violence, repression or inciting violence. The persons subject to the travel restrictions are listed in the Annex to Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763; see under 'Relevant EU documents'. The entry ban does not oblige a Member State to refuse its own nationals entry as this would contravene the right to return to their own country of citizenship. Exemptions are also made for travel restrictions when they are contrary to obligations under international law, e.g. agreements on immunity. In addition, exemptions may be granted by the Council, e.g. on grounds of urgent humanitarian need or, in special exceptional circumstances, to attend intergovernmental meetings that directly promote the policy objectives of restrictive measures, including human rights and democracy in Burundi. A special procedure applies to these exemptions; see Article 1, points 2–8 of Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763.

Freezing of assets

These measures mean that all funds and economic resources belonging to, owned, held or controlled by individuals, entities or bodies listed shall be frozen. The list is contained in the Annex to Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763 and in Annex I of Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1755. No funds or economic resources may be made available, directly or indirectly, to or for the benefit of those included on the list. Exemptions may be granted for funds necessary to cover basic living costs and for expenditure to cover legal costs.

Competent Swedish authorities

The Swedish Migration Agency and Sweden's missions abroad are the authorities responsible for applying travel restrictions.

Links to the relevant authorities are available lower down on this page.