Municipalities and county councils

Local self-government is enshrined in the Swedish Constitution and means that municipalities and county councils have the right of independent and free self-determination. Central government partly sets the framework for self-government through legislation and through its overall responsibility for ensuring that local government operates in a way that is compatible with a balanced economy.

Responsible for municipalities and county councils

Responsible minister

Lena Micko
Lena Micko Minister for Public Administration

Responsible ministry

News about municipalities and county councils

  • Government administration in Sweden

    Sweden has three levels of government: national, regional and local. Regionally Sweden is divided into 21 counties. Political tasks at this level are undertaken on the one hand by the county councils, whose decision-makers are directly elected by the people of the county and, on the other, by the county administrative boards which are government bodies in the counties. At the local level, Sweden has 290 municipalities. Each municipality has an elected assembly, the municipal council, which takes decisions on municipal matters.

Content about municipalities and county councils

Total 5 hits.