Photo:Ninni Andersson/Governments office

Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) is a landmark international treaty and the cornerstone of the multilateral framework for global disarmament and non-proliferation of nuclear weapons. Launched in Stockholm in June 2019, the Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament aims to promote a successful outcome of the 10th Review Conference of the NPT through building political support for a pragmatic and result-oriented nuclear disarmament agenda.

Responsible ministers
Ann Linde
Responsible ministries
Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Which countries are part of the intiative?

The Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament gathers 16 Non-Nuclear Weapon states from different parts of the world and from different security policy contexts:
Argentina, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, the Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Other States Parties to the Non-Prolfieration Treaty – Non-Nuclear Weapon states and Nuclear Weapon states alike – are invited to support the proposals of the initiative by aligning with the working papers “Stepping Stones for Advancing Nuclear Disarmament” and “A Nuclear Risk Reduction Package”.