This content was published in the period between


Sweden one of the initiators behind new international programme to support clean energy transitions in emerging economies


Sweden, under the leadership of Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy Ibrahim Baylan, together with 12 other countries, has launched the Clean Energy Transitions Programme – a new International Energy Agency (IEA) programme to support clean energy transitions around the world. The programme will be an important part of enhanced international energy cooperation to implement the Paris Agreement.

"Interest is considerable in countries such as China, India and Indonesia in developing policy frameworks and technical competence that will accelerate energy transitions. Thanks to the Clean Energy Transitions Programme, we are ensuring structured and financed cooperation with these countries in the future," says Mr Baylan.

The Clean Energy Transitions Programme is being launched within the framework of the IEA and will help develop the IEA as a global platform for clean energy and cooperation with major emerging economies such as Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico and South Africa. The initial stage of the programme comprises SEK 300 million, of which Sweden has contributed SEK 50 million.

"Through Sweden's proactive participation in the programme, good opportunities are created for us to share experiences and actively work on the foundations of sustainable energy systems. At the same time, the programme is also an important forum for following the major shifts in energy policy and technology now under way worldwide," says Mr Baylan.

The Clean Energy Transitions Programme aims to build institutional capacity in emerging economies by improving data collection, analysis and forecasting, and developing policy guidance and modelling, and innovation.

Press contact

Gunilla Hjalmarson
Press Secretary to Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy Ibrahim Baylan
Phone (switchboard) +46 8 405 10 00

About the International Energy Agency (IEA)

The International Energy Agency (IEA) was founded in 1974 and is an independent body within the OECD. Today, the organisation has four focus areas: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness and engagement worldwide. The IEA’s core competencies are considered to be data collection and statistics, market and policy analysis, energy preparedness, research and technological cooperation, and support to the transition of energy systems.