This content was published in the period between

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Amendments to the exemption from the entry ban for residents of Uruguay


The Government has today decided on amendments to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden. The amendments concern the exemption for residents of a certain specified non-EU country and is in line with the Council of the European Union’s latest recommendation to EU Member States.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has subsequently been extended following recommendations by the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. The latest decision to extend the ban means that the entry ban now applies until 31 March 2021.

There are several exemptions to the entry ban, one of which applies to residents of certain specified non-EU countries. As a result of today’s decision, residents of Uruguay are no longer exempted from the entry ban on the basis that they are residents of that country. However, other exemptions from the entry ban may continue to apply to residents of Uruguay.

The COVID-19 virus is an emergency of international concern that requires cross-border cooperation and a coordinated response. Today’s decision is in line with the Council’s latest recommendation to EU Member States.

The amendments will enter into force on 20 January 2021.

For more information on how the ordinance on a temporary entry ban to Sweden is to be interpreted and which exemptions apply, please contact the Swedish Police Authority or visit its website. See the adjacent links.

Regarding questions

Media professionals and journalists should contact the press secretaries.
All others should call the switchboard + 46 8 405 10 00 or send an email to the Ministry of Justice Senior Registry Clerk.