This content was published in the period between

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Amendment to exemptions from entry ban for residents of Israel


The Government has today decided on an amendment to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden. The amendment concerns an exemption for residents of a certain specified non-EU country and is in line with the Council of the European Union’s latest recommendation to EU Member States.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has subsequently been extended following recommendations by the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. The latest decision to extend the ban means that the entry ban now applies until 31 May 2021.

There are several exemptions to the entry ban, one of which applies to residents of certain specified non-EU countries. As a result of today’s decision, residents of Israel are exempted from the entry ban solely on the basis that they reside there. Other exemptions from the entry ban will also continue to apply to residents of Israel.

Foreign citizens who are exempted from the entry ban, such as residents of Israel, are still required to present proof of a negative COVID-19 test result upon entry into Sweden.

The COVID-19 virus is an emergency of international concern that requires cross-border cooperation and a coordinated response. It is important that we coordinate action in the EU to ease entry restrictions in the best way possible as the epidemiological situation improves. Today’s decision is in line with the Council’s latest recommendation to EU Member States.

The amendment will enter into force on 17 May 2021.

For more information on how the ordinance on a temporary ban on entry into Sweden is to be interpreted and which exemptions apply, please visit the website of the Police Authority. See the adjacent links.

Regarding questions

Media professionals and journalists should contact the press secretaries.
All others should call the switchboard + 46 8 405 10 00 or send an email to the Ministry of Justice Senior Registry Clerk.