Nordic-Baltic Foreign Ministers meeting on 16 March 2020


Joint statement

The Foreign Ministers of Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia and the State Secretary of Norway discussed over a video conference on Tuesday the response to the situation caused by the spread of COVID-19 corona virus.

The Ministers and State Secretaries emphasized the need to coordinate and co-operate closely and

  • stressed the resolve to work together to ensure transit for EU and EEA citizens and permanent residents who are returning home, if necessary by establishing transit corridors;
  • decided to establish a network of consular directors to exchange information, best practices and possible practical measures to help citizens and permanent residents of their countries returning home;
  • acknowledged the impact on economies and stressed the importance of free movement of goods, including medical equipment, and keeping cargo corridors open to ensure that the internal market keeps functioning.