Changes to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs organisation


On Monday 11 April, an adaptation of the organisation and working procedures of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs enters into force to better enable the Ministry to address the challenges facing Sweden’s foreign, security and development policy in terms of rapid and complex changes around the world.

Four new departments have been created: the European Security Department, the UN Policy Department, the Conflict and Humanitarian Policy Department and the Global Agenda Department.

Three departments have undergone some changes and been given new names: the Department for International Trade Policy and the EU Single Market, the Department for Promotion of Sweden, Trade and CSR, and the Department for International Development Cooperation.

The adaptation is the result of a thorough process that has taken place in consultation with a broad range of relevant staff members in the Foreign Service, including a number of key embassies.