Skip to content

International cooperation to triple global capacity of nuclear energy


On Saturday 2 December at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP28), Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson, French President Emmanuel Macron and the United States Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry – together with heads of state and government, ministers and industrial leaders from some 20 countries – launched a declaration for strengthened cooperation in the area of civil nuclear energy.

The Declaration to Triple Nuclear Energy aims to highlight the role of nuclear energy in achieving the Paris Agreement goal of limiting global warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius, and to promote responsible and safe nuclear energy. Countries that endorse the Declaration are committed to working together to advance a global aspirational goal of tripling nuclear energy capacity from 2020 to 2050.

“For the first time, nuclear energy has also been given a prominent role here at COP28. The Swedish Government welcomes this, of course. We want to be an active cooperation partner on the global stage to pave the way for new nuclear energy, which is required to phase out fossil fuels,” says Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson.

“This Declaration marks the beginning of a completely new view of the role of nuclear energy in the green transition. Not only does working to triple global nuclear energy capacity improve opportunities to meet the climate objectives, it’s also crucial for creating growth and prosperity in parallel,” says Minister for Energy, Business and Industry and Deputy Prime Minister Ebba Busch.

The Declaration is supported by Sweden, the US, France, the United Arab Emirates, South Korea, Poland, Czechia, Ukraine, Slovenia, Slovakia, Romania, Ghana, Bulgaria, Japan, Finland, the United Kingdom, Kazakhstan, Canada, Morocco, Hungary, Mongolia and Moldova.

Mr Kristersson and Ms Busch attended the launch of the Declaration.

Sweden – together with France, the United Arab Emirates (through the Emirates Nuclear Energy Corporation), the UK, South Korea and the US – is part of the group of core countries that has put forward the Declaration.