The Government Offices is the agency that assists the Government and Ministers in their task of governing Sweden. The Government Offices consists of the Prime Minister’s Office, eleven ministries and the Office for Administrative Affairs. The Ministry of Finance is one of the eleven ministries in the Government Offices and has around 400 employees. About five per cent of these are political appointees.

Political leadership and staff

There are three ministers at the Ministry of Finance:

  • Minister for Finance Magdalena Andersson, who is also head of the ministry
  • Minister for Financial Markets and Consumer Affairs, Deputy Minister for Finance Per Bolund
  • Minister for Public Administration Ardalan Shekarabi.

The ministers themselves choose their own closest staff members: State Secretaries, Assistant State Secretary, Political Advisers and Press Secretaries. These politically appointed employees comprise the Ministry's political staff, who assist the ministers in directing the work of the Ministry. The State Secretaries, who are directly answerable to the ministers, are each responsible for specific policy areas. They assist the ministers in planning, coordination and follow-up of the ministry's activities. The Assistant State Secretary and Political Advisers assist the political leadership with background material, political assessments, planning and coordination. The Press Secretaries assist the ministers in their contact with the media.

Non-political officials

The day-to-day work of the Ministry of Finance is conducted by the various departments. Each department has a head of department.All relatively large departments are divided into divisions, which are led by heads of division. The heads of departments and divisions are appointed by the Government, but are not political appointees.

The Ministry of Finance is divided into nine departments with different areas of responsibility and activity.

Department for Public Administration

The Department for Public Administration is responsible for local government financial and legislative matters, agency governance, statistics, regulation of gambling, state administration, central government employer policy, procurement law and consumer issues.

Department for Coordination and Support

The Department for Coordination and Support is responsible for the Ministry's human resources issues, activity planning and financial administration support.

Budget Department

The Budget Department is responsible for leading and coordinating the Government's work on the central government budget, and for budget policy, regulation and follow-up.

Economic Affairs Department

The Economic Affairs Department monitors, analyses and assesses the real development of the Swedish economy and the development of public finances, and the use and distribution of the resources of society.

Financial Markets and Institutions Department

The Financial Markets and Institutions Department is responsible for matters relating to the stability of the financial system, consumer protection in the financial markets, national debt policy, pension savings, and the regulation of companies, trade and services in the financial markets.

Communications Department

The Communications Department plans, coordinates and develops the Government's communications within the Ministry's areas of responsibility.

International Department

The International Department coordinates the Ministry's international issues and drafts and prepares Sweden's positions.

Legal Secretariat

The Legal Secretariat advises the Ministry leadership and all departments except Financial Markets and Institutions and Tax and Customs on legal issues.

Tax and Customs Department

The Tax and Customs Department is responsible for formulating proposals for legislation on taxes and social security contributions, and for customs matters.