Margot Wallström is no longer a government minister, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Minister for Foreign Affairs Margot Wallström to host a ministerial meeting on nuclear disarmament


On 11 June, Minister for Foreign Affairs Margot Wallström will host an international ministerial meeting in Stockholm on disarmament and non-proliferation. This Swedish initiative will be the first meeting of its kind for many years, and there is a great deal of international interest.

The Government’s goal is a world free of nuclear weapons, and the initiative to host this disarmament meeting is an important part of this work. The purpose of Tuesday’s meeting is to discuss how governments can work together to create political pressure for disarmament and engagement ahead of the Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) next year.

“The situation in the world is critical, and the risk of nuclear arms use is greater than it has been for many years. We are taking this initiative because we must make vigorous efforts for disarmament,” says Ms Wallström. “The NPT is the cornerstone of international action for disarmament and non-proliferation. The nuclear-weapon states have made important commitments in this regard, and this is why we are focusing on discussing the NPT in particular when we meet on Tuesday,” she adds. 

The discussions in Stockholm will be about reducing the role of nuclear weapons in doctrines, increasing transparency surrounding arsenals and looking into measures to reduce the risk of nuclear weapon use. The idea is that this type of action can contribute to strengthened confidence between countries and thus also to a better cooperation climate in disarmament diplomacy.

“We have to mobilise political will and increase pressure on parties to actively participate in disarmament work within the framework of the NPT,” says Ms Wallström. “We hope that Tuesday’s meeting will make a contribution to positive progress in this work,” she says. 

The 15 countries invited to attend are non-nuclear-weapon states committed to disarmament from all parts of the world and with different security policy conditions. The following countries are taking part: Argentina, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, the Republic of Korea, Spain and Switzerland.

For editorial offices

Media will need special accreditation from the Ministry for Foreign Affairs to attend the press conference, which will take place after the meeting, and for the photo opportunity at the start of the meeting.  

Accreditation application

Press contact

Elin Tibell
Press secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs Margot Wallström
Phone (switchboard) +46 8 405 10 00