Skip to content

Sanctions against Central African Republic

Here is information on sanctions against Central African Republic.

Description of the sanctions

1. Arms embargo

It is prohibited to directly or indirectly supply, sell or transfer arms and related materiel, including ammunition, military vehicles and equipment, paramilitary equipment or related spare parts to the Central African Republic. It is also prohibited to offer technical and financial assistance in connection with the arms embargo. The sale, delivery, transfer or export of arms and related materiel intended solely for use by various international forces and other peacekeeping missions in the country are exempt from the embargo. To deal with issues concerning the arms embargo and other matters, the UN has established a sanctions committee for the Central African Republic. Exemptions from the arms embargo must be approved in advance by the sanctions committee. Member States have a mandate to confiscate goods covered by the arms embargo.

2. Travel restrictions

It is prohibited for persons designated by the sanctions committee, and who on this basis have been listed by the EU, to enter or transit through the EU. Persons who may be subject to listing include those who participate in actions that undermine peace, security and stability in the Central African Republic, who violate the arms embargo, who support armed groups or criminal networks with weapons or in some other way, who in any way have participated in crimes against human rights or international humanitarian law, who recruit or use child soldiers or who obstruct the delivery of humanitarian assistance.

3. Freezing of assets

All assets and economic resources owned by persons or entities designated by the United Nations Sanctions Committee, and who on this basis have been listed by the EU, shall be frozen. It is also prohibited to place assets or economic resources at their disposal. The criteria for the listing of persons and, where appropriate, entities are the same as for travel restrictions. Certain exemptions from the freezing of assets may be permitted for humanitarian purposes, etc.

Competent Swedish authorities

The Swedish Migration Agency and Sweden's missions abroad are the authorities responsible for applying travel restrictions.

The Inspectorate of Strategic Products has primary responsibility for matters concerning arms embargoes.

The National Board of Trade is the competent authority on issues concerning exemptions from the freezing of assets of legal persons.

Exemptions from freezing of assets concerning natural persons may be granted by Försäkringskassan (the Swedish Social Insurance Agency).

Information on frozen accounts is to be submitted to Finansinspektionen (the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority), which is also the competent authority for exemptions from the freezing of assets for the payment of administrative costs.