Skip to content

Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament


The Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament was launched in June 2019 by ministers of 16 Non-Nuclear Weapon states in various parts of the world with various security policy contexts. The aim of the Initiative is to reduce polarisation between countries and take concrete steps towards the common ultimate goal of a world free of nuclear weapons.

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) is a historic international agreement and the cornerstone of the multilateral framework for global disarmament and non-proliferation of nuclear weapons. The work within the NPT framework has three pillars: non-proliferation, disarmament and peaceful uses of nuclear energy. These efforts are maintained through recurring Review Conferences to evaluate the work and formulate guidelines for how it should continue.

The Initiative will promote a successful result at the 11th NTP Review Conference, which will take place in 2026. This will be done by creating political support for a pragmatic and results-oriented agenda for nuclear disarmament that further builds on the efforts undertaken during the previous review cycle.

What has been done within the framework of the Initiative?

A number of declarations and concrete proposals have been made within the framework of the Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament.


The Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament was launched in June 2019 by ministers of 16 Non-Nuclear Weapon states from different parts of the world and security policy contexts. The participating ministers agreed to promote an ambitious, yet realistic, agenda for nuclear disarmament that would reaffirm NPT's role as the cornerstone of the global disarmament and non-proliferation regime. To give this real meaning, concrete measures for the implementation of Article VI – disarmament – of the Treaty would be identified, building on the commitments made during a series of Review Conferences, notably in 1995, 2000 and 2010.

Declaration of the Stockholm Ministerial Meeting on Nuclear Disarmament and the Non-Proliferation Treaty on 11 June 2019 (pdf)


At their meeting in Berlin, Germany, on 25 February 2020, the ministers of the Initiative adopted a declaration and a set of concrete proposals – ‘stepping stones’ – for nuclear disarmament. These are practical and viable measures that can and should be taken now to advance nuclear disarmament and build momentum for even further progress down the road. Among other objectives, the proposed measures seek to minimise the risk of conflict and accidental nuclear weapon use, diminish the role of nuclear weapons in security policies and doctrines and enhance nuclear disarmament verification. Promotion of disarmament education and the full and effective participation of women in nuclear disarmament affairs are other elements that are included. 


In 2021, the Declaration of the Berlin Ministerial Meeting – with its stepping stones – was reaffirmed at ministerial meetings in Amman, Jordan in January; in Madrid, Spain in July and in Stockholm, Sweden in December, together with a call to advance nuclear disarmament by taking meaningful steps to implement commitments under the NPT. The proposals for stepping stones were formally submitted to the 10th NPT Review Conference as a joint working paper. A working paper on reducing nuclear risks – ‘A Nuclear Risk Reduction Package’ – was also adopted. 


Which countries are part of the initiative?

At present, the Stockholm Initiative for Nuclear Disarmament gathers 14 non-nuclear weapon states from different parts of the world and from different security policy contexts:

Argentina, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands, Norway, the Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Other States Parties to the NPT – non-nuclear weapon states and nuclear weapon states alike – are invited to support the proposals of the initiative.