This content was published in the period between

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Change to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden


The Government has today decided on a change to the temporary ban on entry into Sweden. As a result of this change, residents of Serbia and Montenegro will no longer be exempted from the entry ban. Today’s decision is in line with the Council of the European Union’s latest recommendation to EU Member States.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has sub­sequently been extended following European Commission recommen­dations. The latest decision to extend the ban means that the entry ban now applies until 31 August 2020.

Since 19 March, the Govern­ment has decided on several occasions to adjust the entry restrictions. On 4 July, the list of people allowed to enter was expanded, including by exempting residents of certain specified non-EU countries from the entry ban.

As a result of today’s decision, residents of Serbia and Monte­negro are no longer exempted from the entry ban on the basis that they are residents of one of the countries. Other exemptions from the entry ban may continue to apply to residents of Serbia and Monte­negro.

The COVID-19 virus is an emergency of inter­national concern that requires cross-border cooperation and coordi­nation. Today’s decision is in line with the Council’s latest recommen­dation to EU Member States.

The changes enter into force on 19 July 2020.

For more information on how the ordinance on a tempo­rary entry ban to Sweden is to be inter­preted and which exemptions apply, please contact the Swedish Police Authority or visit its website. See the links to the right.

Regarding questions

Media professionals and journalists should contact the press secretaries.
All others should call the switchboard + 46 8 405 10 00 or send an email to the Ministry of Justice Senior Registry Clerk.