Government to establish a Ministerial Working Group on Climate Policy


The Government’s goal is for Sweden to be the world’s first fossil-free welfare nation. To achieve this, all policy areas must pull in the same direction and the issue of climate change must be integrated into all relevant policy areas. For this reason, the Government has decided to form a ministerial working group on climate policy.

– Climate change is the defining issue of our time and it cannot be solved if we’re stuck in a silo mentality. All relevant policy areas must contribute to the transition of society as a whole, says Minister for Environment and Climate Isabella Lövin.

The purpose of the ministerial working group is to strengthen the Government’s work to achieve the climate objectives and to implement the climate policy action plan. The working group will hold regular meetings chaired by the Prime Minister. In addition to the Prime Minister and the Minister for Environment and Climate, the group will include six other ministers whose areas are crucial to the climate transition: the Minister for Business, Industry and Innovation, the Minister for Infrastructure, the Minister for Energy and Digital Development, the Minister for Rural Affairs and the Minister for Financial Markets and Housing.

The Ministerial Working Group on Climate Policy will have a central role in efforts to drive the transition and pursue the green recovery.