This content was published in the period between

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Extension of temporary entry ban to Sweden until 22 December 2020


To mitigate the effects of the spread of COVID-19 a temporary ban on entry to the EU via Sweden is in force. The Government today decided to extend the entry ban until 22 December 2020.

The COVID-19 virus is a matter of international concern that requires cross-border cooperation and coordinated measures. Today’s decision is in line with the EU Commission and the Council of the European Union recommendation to EU Member States.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It was subsequently extended following European Commission recommendations.

For more information on how the ordinance on a temporary entry ban to Sweden is to be interpreted and which exemptions there are, please contact the Swedish Police Authority or visit its website. See the adjacent link.