Skip to content

Nordic Defence Cooperation

Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Norway are part of the Nordic Defence Cooperation (NORDEFCO). This cooperation started in 2009 and primarily aims to increase the countries’ defence capabilities and enhance possibilities to take joint action if a crisis arises in the neighbourhood.

News about NORDEFCO

  • New Nordic cooperation for accessible airspace

    The Nordic countries are entering into a cooperation to promote access to Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden’s airspace for NATO’s air operations. On 9 July, a declaration of cooperation was signed by the countries’ defence ministers in connection with the NATO Summit in Washington DC.

  • NORDEFCO Annual Report 2023

    Sweden held the NORDEFCO chairmanship in 2023 and the annual report provides a summary of the year. The Nordic Defence Cooperation was further deepened in 2023. Among other things, a new vision for the cooperation was adopted, Vision 2030. Denmark holds the NORDEFCO chairmanship in 2024.

  • Joint vision to enhance Nordic defence cooperation

    The Nordic defence ministers stands next to each other outside.
    The Nordic defence ministers. Photo: The Danish Ministry of Defence

    In connection with the NORDEFCO ministerial meeting on 29–30 April in Tórshavn, Faroe Islands, the Nordic defence ministers signed Vision 2030, a steering document on Nordic defence cooperation going forward. 

Content about NORDEFCO

Total 15 hits.