Skip to content

6. International organisations

There are currently 16 international organisations which have concluded seat agreements with the Swedish Government or have a similar legal basis. This chapter highlights the specific rules that apply for these international organisations and their staff members. It should be noted that each seat agreement contains all the necessary details on issues such as privileges and immunities.

  • Bank for International Settlements Innovation Hub (BISIH) Nordic Centre
  • European Space Agency (ESA)
  • European Commission Representation in Sweden
  • European Parliament Information Office in Sweden
  • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)
  • European Investment Bank (EIB)
  • European Spallation Source (ESS) ERIC
  • Global Water Partnership Organisation (GWPO)
  • International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA)
  • International Vaccine Institute (IVI)
  • Secretariat of the Council of Baltic Sea States (CBSS)
  • Secretariat of the Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being (NDPHS)
  • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
  • United Nations Children's fund (UNICEF)
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
  • World Maritime University (WMU)


Protocol Department
Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Visiting address Gustav Adolfs torg 1
Address 103 39 STOCKHOLM
email to Protocol Department