Margot Wallström is no longer a government minister, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Sweden to chair UN’s International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) 2019–2020


It is now clear that Sweden will be elected Chair of the IAEA Board of Governors for 2019–2020.

“It is a great pleasure and honour that Sweden has been entrusted with this prestigious assignment,” said Minister for Foreign Affairs Margot Wallström following the announcement.

“The IAEA plays a very important role in promoting peace, security and development. Our role as Chair of the Board is an important part of our efforts to ensure non-proliferation of nuclear weapons, which is a priority issue for the Government. At present, this particularly concerns the verification of Iran’s compliance with the nuclear accord, and the information that the IAEA may receive in the event of a nuclear disarmament agreement with North Korea,” Ms Wallström said.

The IAEA was created in 1956. The organisation is tasked with promoting the peaceful and secure use of nuclear energy while ensuring that nuclear material is not misused for military purposes. Under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, all non-nuclear-weapon states are subject to verification under the IAEA safeguards system. The post of Director-General of the IAEA was held for 36 consecutive years by two Swedes, Sigvard Eklund and Hans Blix, but this will be the first time Sweden will serve as Chair of the Board of Governors.

The assignment of Chair will be carried out by Sweden’s Permanent Representative to the IAEA, Ambassador Mikaela Kumlin Granit.