This content was published in the period between

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Temporary entry ban extended until 31 March 2021 and amended due to Brexit


Since March, a temporary ban on entry to the EU via Sweden has been in force. The Government today decided to extend the entry ban until 31 March 2021. At the same time, the Government has adopted a new exemption from the entry ban due to Brexit.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has subsequently been extended several times following recommendations by the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. Today’s extension is in line with the recommendations issued by the Commission and Council to maintain the entry ban for an additional period.

At the end of the year, the post-Brexit transition period comes to an end. The United Kingdom will then become a third country in relation to the EU and, as a main rule, the entry ban will apply. The Government therefore today adopted a new exemption from the entry ban for people who are entitled to residence status in Sweden following Brexit. This amendment applies to entry into Sweden after 31 December 2020.

For more information on how the ordinance on a temporary entry ban to Sweden is to be interpreted and which exemptions apply, please contact the Swedish Police Authority or visit its website.

Regarding questions

Media professionals and journalists should contact the press secretaries.
All others should call the switchboard + 46 8 405 10 00 or send an email to the Ministry of Justice Senior Registry Clerk.